Top Stories

Telangana, AP high courts to get new chief justices soon | Hyderabad News

HYDERABAD: The Supreme Court collegium has recommended Karnataka Acting Chief Justice Satish Chandra Sharma as the next CJ of Telangana high court. Acting Chief Justice M S Ramachandra Rao of Telangana HC will be going to Chandigarh as the ninth judge of Punjab and Haryana high court.
Chhattisgarh Acting Chief Justice Prashant Kumar Mishra has been named as Chief Justice of AP high court and incumbent CJ Arup Kumar Goswamy moved to Chhattisgarh HC as CJ.
Justice T Amarnath Goud, a sitting judge of Telangana high court, has been shifted as judge of Tripura high court.
The appointments would take place once the collegium recommendations are notified by the Centre.
Sharma was an advocate in Madhya Pradesh HC
Justice Satish Chandra Sharma, who is the son of BN Sharma, a well-known professor of Jabalpur University, practised as advocate before Madhya Pradesh high court in Jabalpur and was elevated as a judge of the same HC on January 18, 2008. He was made a permanent judge on January 15, 2010.
During his 10-month stint as a judge of Karnataka high court, Justice Sharma authored many important judgments.
A division bench headed by Justice Sharma dismissed the writ appeals filed by Amazon and Flipkart in connection with the probe initiated by the Competition Commission of India vis-a-vis complaint lodged by Delhi Vyapar Mahasangh, alleging anti-competitive practices.
On September 7, a division bench headed by Acting Chief Justice Sharma also dismissed a PIL against the ‘Cauvery Calling’ project, initiated by Sadhguru Vasudev’s Isha Outreach. The bench had said that planting trees on barren government land was not a crime.

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button